“Pure intentions lead to clarity, which leads to a certain amount of freedom.  It’s hard to have clarity, if you don’t have purity.  And it’s impossible to have freedom without purity and clarity.”  Christina Katz at The Prosperous Writer, “52 Qualities of Prosperous Writers:  Number Thirty-Three is Purity.”

Perhaps I’ve been going about this the wrong way.

I spend long days at work dreaming of the day when I can set myself free from my profession and in the meantime, ideas pile up in my already crowded brain.    I often think of writing as my escape, and the day that I choose to pursue it as the moment that I will finally achieve the freedom that writing symbolizes for me.   However, I seem to have been pursuing (if you might call it that) this path with the idea that freedom will bring purity and clarity.  I have been holding onto hope that if I finally have a moment to think that these virtues will follow organically.  Can it be that the freedom I seek may actually come from getting my “ducks in a row” first?

Ms. Katz writes that “purity of intention” requires one to “[k]now what you are doing.  Know why you are doing it.  Know whom you are doing it for. . . .”  Although I am certain that her words speak to the necessity of focusing one’s professional writing self (and projects) on clearly-defined goals with clearly-defined audiences, these words reach me in a different place.  I am writing.  I am writing to put my soul back together, and I am writing for me.

Someday – someday soon, I hope – I will be ready to turn my focus to writing with greater resolve and with more purpose than simply to stick my big toe in the writing water once in awhile.  In the meantime, rather than dreaming about freedom, I’ll get my “ducks in a row” first.  I’ll search for pure writing intentions in an effort to find the clarity that may lead me down the road to writing freedom.

