To my writer friends:

Will you share how you start the writing process?  Until recently, I have focused primarily on writing short pieces of fiction, because short seemed manageable.  I long to write a longer piece, but the unknown is getting the best of me.  I know, however, that if I never start, I will never finish.

Do you map your idea first?  Or do you just begin writing?  The latter seems to me a recipe for chaos, however, I keep reading that honest writing is organic.  I agree, but I also wonder how you get there if you don’t know where you’re going first?

If my goal is to drive to somewhere, I don’t just get in the car and start driving.  I check a map and decide which roads are best-suited to get me to my destination.  By doing this, though, I miss the adventure of getting there.  Perhaps the road not taken would have been the better story.  What if in all my planning, I miss the point completely?

I see the middle ground, but I’d like to hear from those who’ve been there and done that.  Will you share your thoughts?

